Registered Member #2587 Joined: [ 17:13 ] [ 07 Oct 2013 ] Posts: 132
I was curious to know if the 64 player limitation applied to Instant Battle mode as I don't recall anyone attempting to change the the max value for the Percentage of Bots slider in the Campaign/Instant Battle menu. There are modified server exes floating out there that allow 128+ players in multiplayer. But nothing much for the client exe. Tuia (the guy who found out how to modify the exe for more player count) had initially shown me where in the client exe to alter these values so I could host games from the client exe with more then 64 players. But I then I decided to see if this works without any changes to the exe.
So I reverted to the original EXE (this version only had the widescreen hack, I did check to make sure multiplayer was capped at 64 with that version and it was) and then modified the meme files for CampaignMenu and SkirmishMenu. I increased the max bot count in the AIDefault.con file for my mod and then tried out the menu changes. It worked! Got 256 bots working in Instant Battle mode and this shouldn't need any hacks to the EXE!
Basically I changed the Slider node max value from 400 to 1600 (unlike the CreateGame menu, the player count is percentage based instead of an exact player count, this might be why we are able to get more bots in Skirmish Mode without EXE hacks). I tried something crazy like 3200 (this would in theory give me 512 bots), but the game crashed as it ran out of "descriptors" to assign to the players. So like multiplayer, the game has a memory allocation limitation and there can't be more then 256 players. So to be on the safe side just set the max bot count in your AiDefault.con file to 255 instead of 256 as you have to remember the human player counts towards the player population in Skirmish Mode just like in multiplayer. So you can safely have 255. But you can go ahead and try 256 bots if it turns out the game has a little leg room and allows 257 players.
The AiDefault.con file is not included. For the mod you are going to use this on, you'll need to edit that file your self. Details are included in the ReadMe file in the archive linked above.
This mod is compatible with vanilla BF1942, however it will also work in any mod that hasn't already modified the CampaignMenu or SkirmishMenu meme files. This includes mods like DesertCombat.
My upcoming rebuild of the BF242 mod will already have this menu mod, so don't attempt to use this with my BF242 mod as it wouldn't be needed.
Registered Member #2587 Joined: [ 17:13 ] [ 07 Oct 2013 ]
Hosting ingame servers from the Create Game menu in the multiplayer section requires a hex edit of the exe to allow more then 64 players. The only exception was games created from the Instant Battle menu for singleplayer (as well as the little used Campaign menu). Tuia had PMed me the addresses and values to change and right now I do have a copy of the modified EXE that allows this, but after finding that this menu mod works on a unmodded exe for Instant Battle, I no longer use it.
My mod alters the "Percentage of Bots" slider setting for that menu to allow up to 256 bots in Instant Battle single player. You'll still need a exe hack of some kind to enable 256 bots in multiplayer/lan games. Since the majority of users usually use Instant Battle for singleplayer (that doesn't involve the participation of other humans), my mod should allow 256 bots in most circumstances.
EDIT:
Important! There was one thing I forgot to mention.
Most of the vanilla maps has this code line in the SingleplayerAxis/SingleplayerAllied.con files (Skirmish Mode uses these con files to setup the tickets and load the objectspawns/CPs)
game.maxNrofPlayers 18
You'll need to go through any maps that uses this and rem it out. Otherwise you won't notice any change in bot count!
Most mods I don't think really have this. But if you run into maps that seem to ignore the new max bot count, that would be the first place to look.
I have Cameras in your head!
Shrooms
[ 22:56 ] [ 12 Jun 2014 ]
Guest
i tried this with is82aix and it didn't work gunna try looking in the map files now. edit I also tried on dc final I'm getting 36 players on one side and 28 on the other and I got the number of bots to 1600% edit 2: I tried vanilla omaha beach and remmed out the maxnumberofplayers in the map and the player count is the same plz fix
Registered Member #2587 Joined: [ 17:13 ] [ 07 Oct 2013 ]
Swaffy over at BFmods forums reported that he got it working, so there's something your missing. Be sure to rem it out and not try and increase it as Swaffy got it working by just remming out that line. Be sure to check both the SingleplayerAllies.con file and the SingleplayerAxis.con file as the game will load either one depending on which team you selected prior to starting Instant Battle.
Did you raise the "aiSettings.setMaxNBots" command to 255 in the AiDefault.con file? (found in the game.rfa file)
You also need to modify that before more bots will show up.
I have Cameras in your head!
Shrooms
[ 01:32 ] [ 13 Jun 2014 ]
Guest
This is what I did
I got the menu mod installed
And then i opened the mods' game.rfa not the bf1942 one
Then i checked the map for the con files you said but I didn't see them there.
Then I loaded the mod and have these settings set
And then I get this player count
anything I did wrong?I also did this for dcf and bf1942 and I got the same result!
Registered Member #2587 Joined: [ 17:13 ] [ 07 Oct 2013 ]
The SingleplayerAxis/SinglePlayerAllied.con files can be hard to find in WinRFA sometimes. The best way to get to them is to just unpack the map.
If they still aren't there, get some from a different map.
I would be surprised singleplayer from Instant Battle mode even works correctly if the map is indeed missing them. They are the equivalent to the coop.con/Conquest.con files. They define the game mode for that map. If they are missing, then the map wouldn't show up in the list of maps in the Instant Battle menu!